VOTING IN LOCKSTEP IS NOW A GOOD THING? (Not According to SOME Democrats in Congress…)

~~By Kenosha Marge

We just get used to hearing from the left about how too-too terrible it is when the right tries to muzzle and/or oust it’s “moderates’, aka too liberal members. Those evil GOPers don’t want/allow dissenting voices in their party. Big Tent? More like little pup tent. Gives us more reason to hate them.

Some sort of tent...

Some sort of tent...

So now we appear superior while welcoming (yuck) Snarlin’ Arlen Specter over to our side. Because of course he was too moderate for those evil rat-bastards on the right. Ignore the fact that he knew he couldn’t get re-elected by the voters of his state. So after being promised all sorts of lovely baubles he turned to the light. Hallelujah!

Meanwhile when some recalcitrant Democrats dig their heels in it isn’t seen as being moderate. They’re ignoble “conservative” Democrats from evil conservative districts and states. They must be expunged. Or whipped into line. Threatened even.

Under no circumstances are they to show any sign of individuality or be given the right to think for themselves. Or vote the way their constituents want them to vote. Mercy me no. What an idea!

What happened to the frenzy about those moronic Republicans that voted in lockstep with their leadership and White House? Wasn’t that supposed to be a really bad thing? What’s different now? Oh right, the Democrats are in the majority, a Faux-Democrat is in the White House and now lockstep voting is de riguer.

Locksteppers...

Locksteppers...

I just can’t seem to get the whole double standard, hypocrite thing right. It’s not as if as a normal human being I haven’t been guilty of being a hypocrite or of using a double standard. There is no halo above my head and I am ashamed when someone points out my hypocrisy. And therein lies the difference because I am ashamed.

The difference between normal human beings and politicians is that we normals take offense when people call us names and insult our families.

We normals are ashamed when caught out in some wrongdoing. They are just ashamed they got caught.

We normals are ashamed when we’re caught being hypocrites. Hypocrisy is part and parcel of their DNA.

Politicians like to pretend that the drivel they spew contains words of wisdom. They also like to ignore the fact those words are a complete contradiction of what they formerly said. Evidently to them this is of no consequence.

You often read that politicians decide to ride out a crap-storm because they believe they can depend on the public’s well-known short memory. They also count on the fact that the media is usually too busy with dead rock stars, live half naked young women, and kissing the buttocks of whatever party is in power to bother with actual reporting on who said what and when.

So now the Democratic Party seems intent on eating and beating up on it’s own:

DNC targeting centrist Dems in health ads

And then there are those damn Blue Dog Democrats which must be spayed and/or neutered.

A Blue Dog...

A Blue Dog...

Cause we like lockstep voting now.

Flip Flopping?

Flip Flopping?

Yellow Dog Democrats anyone? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yellow_dog_Democrat

A Yellow Dog...

A Yellow Dog...

Oh, for the record, here are the Blue Dogs as listed at the Blue Dog Coalition site if you want to know more…That is,  instead of just taking the word of some one ranting about how evil they are and how they must be punished for their un-lockstep ways…

Blue Dog Leadership Team

Rep. Stephanie Herseth Sandlin (SD), Blue Dog Co-Chair for Administration
Rep. Baron Hill (IN-09), Blue Dog Co-Chair for Policy
Rep. Charlie Melancon (LA-03), Blue Dog Co-Chair for Communications
Rep. Heath Shuler (NC-11), Blue Dog Whip

Blue Dog Members

Altmire, Jason (PA-04)
Arcuri, Mike (NY-24)
Baca, Joe (CA-43)
Barrow, John (GA-12)
Berry, Marion (AR-01)
Bishop, Sanford (GA-02)
Boren, Dan (OK-02)
Boswell, Leonard (IA-03)
Boyd, Allen (FL-02)
Bright, Bobby (AL-02)
Cardoza, Dennis (CA-18)
Carney, Christopher (PA-10)
Chandler, Ben (KY-06)
Childers, Travis (MS-01)
Cooper, Jim (TN-05)
Costa, Jim (CA-20)
Cuellar, Henry (TX-28)
Dahlkemper, Kathy (PA-03)
Davis, Lincoln (TN-04)
Donnelly, Joe (IN-02)
Ellsworth, Brad (IN-08)
Giffords, Gabrielle (AZ-08)
Gordon, Bart (TN-06)
Griffith, Parker (AL-05)
Harman, Jane (CA-36)
Herseth Sandlin, Stephanie (SD)
Hill, Baron (IN-09)
Holden, Tim (PA-17)
Kratovil, Jr., Frank (MD-01)
McIntyre, Mike (NC-07)
Marshall, Jim (GA-03)
Matheson, Jim (UT-02)
Melancon, Charlie (LA-03)
Michaud, Mike (ME-02)
Minnick, Walt (ID-01)
Mitchell, Harry (AZ-05)
Moore, Dennis (KS-03)
Murphy, Patrick (PA-08)
Nye, Glenn (VA-02)
Peterson, Collin (MN-07)
Pomeroy, Earl (ND)
Ross, Mike (AR-04)
Salazar, John (CO-03)
Sanchez, Loretta (CA-47)
Schiff, Adam (CA-29)
Scott, David (GA-13)
Shuler, Heath (NC-11)
Space, Zack (OH-18)
Tanner, John (TN-08)
Taylor, Gene (MS-04)
Thompson, Mike (CA-01)
Wilson, Charles (OH-06)

17 Responses

  1. I find the tent analogy quite telling. The main difference between the 2 major parties is what they’ll do in that tent; Republicans will screw anyone (except their wife) in it and pretend no one notices. Democrats will screw the entire population of world simultaneously in it and expect everyone to thank them for it.

  2. “They’re ignoble “conservative” Democrats from evil conservative districts and states.”

    What this line really alludes to is…. (shhhhh “racists.”)

    The meme is about to resurface. And is already rearing it’s head. Watch and see. Obama’s ratings are dropping like a rock and we must now cowl the guilty white elites into submission.

    I am so sick of this! What on earth has happened to my former party?

  3. Well a whole lot of Democrats don’t seem all that interested in keeping the “screwing at home” either.

    FDR, JFK, RFK, Teddy K, Bill Clinton and Eliot Spitzer come to mind off the top of my head. Philandering doesn’t much interest me unless it’s happening at my house. In which case I’m in favor of the Lorena Bobbit solution.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_and_Lorena_Bobbitt

    I just don’t like locksteping from or by anyone. In my mind it can too easily lead to goosestepping.

  4. I never was good at following the leader unless I felt in my heart that things were good. This is not good. Both republican and democrats are disgusting to me. Where does that leave me?

  5. As a wiley and inform Independent Betty. Just like the rest of the IA gang. I was an Independent before I even knew that I was I think. And I dearly love folks that don’t like playing follow the leader. Support leadership when it’s rights, kick it in the ass when it’s wrong and vote against the one’s that don’t support the people.

    And IMO we will never have that unless and until we have Public Finance, across the board, and term limits. We don’t have jobs for life, why the hell should we let them asshats?

  6. I hope the Blue Dogs hang tough. I identified with the Blue Dogs before I became an Independent. I’m a moderate. I like people that think for themselves. We don’t need a bunch of lemmings following the leader over the cliff’s edge.

    • The creepy Hannity and Mark Levine tonight said that if the Blue Dogs don’t “stand up” they will be targeted by the GOP and will be defeated….

      What a mess! And the crappy Democrats caused all this by gaming their own primary system…

  7. It leaves us basically….everyman-woman for himself/herself…which, is precisely the way the GOP likes it!!!!!!

  8. Hell with following the leader. All that gets you is screwed over and another worthless asshat for a leader.

  9. The Republicans will be able to target Blue Dog Democrats if they do not vote the way that their constituents want them to vote.

    Voting lockstep with coastal further left Democrats will not get them re-elected in more conservative states. Many/most know that as does the leadership.

    That’s why Harry Reid was not happy with the DNC for making commercials against them in their home states. Without them there is no majority.

    Partisanship that insists on party loyalty before loyalty to the people that voted for you and before your own personal convictions is not something that I, personally, want to see. I wouldn’t, again personally, vote for Nancy Pelosi, Harry Reid, or Obama. Why on earth would I want my representative to blindly follow them?

    • I think we’ve made it abundantly clear to our non-representative Congress critters that we don’t want them to follow their “leadership”. Perhaps we need to make it abundantly clear that we’ll support and assist the GOP in targeting them if they don’t stand firm.

      Now that I think about it, maybe that’s how we need to approach this whole mess. Groups like MoveOn.org got powerful by being against issues and candidates, not foranything. We need to make the PUMA bloc a group the politicians don’t want to rile up for fear of being targeted!

    • And then we get the GOP in who don’t follow their constituents either!
      It’s an ENDLESS game…like whiplash!

      I hate the GOP, and now I hate most Dems, too. However, I won’t target Dems if the alternative is much worse! I just might not vote at all…which I actually did here in CD-2. Didn’t vote for Teague, who is a conservative Dem…has to be in this district. But he’s pro-choice and does have an interest in issues that deal with helping people in this poor district. HOWEVER, since the loathsome Steve Pearce is going to try to reclaim the seat, I may have to vote for Teague, who has voted against some of the crap, but not all of it.
      Steve Pearce, the former military guy, “values” guy, anti-choice guy voted AGAINST everything that helped the wounded vets from Iraq….EVERY SINGLE THING! Not to mention anything that helped the little guy while assisting the big guys in the exploitation of our water and natural resources in the region! I get notices from MegaVote on all votes and I swear, this guy is a pig!!

      It’s a quandry!! I sure don’t want Pearce back!!!! The GOP generally is complete SCUM, so I think it’s a case by case basis.

      • Here, in Evanston, we have Green Party candidates. That is where my votes will be if the Rep isn’t an improvement. I think that if I don’t vote, my protest will not even be known. I could not have voted for pResident in 2008 without the benefit of another party. But my vote counted – even if the candidate did not win.

        I’ve repeatedly let my “representative” know that I disapprove of her a$$kissing and that because of it she will not get my vote and I will work to see that others who might have blindly followed the “progressive” democrat party, will look at other options. She, however has her head so far up the derriere of POTUS, she likely hasn’t heard me. . . . but she will.

  10. Sounds like a plan to me Grail!

  11. I always let the asshats know when I approve or disapprove of their actions on some important matter. It may result in nothing more but one of their little now-now, there-there condescending letters but at least I have made my opinion known. It also is a good release valve for my near constant state of outrage.

    I too always vote. Just sitting it out is not an option for me and IMHO shouldn’t be for anyone. If you do nothing more than write-in Mickey Mouse you have at least made it plain that you found both candidates unworthy of your vote. And getting your voice heard is necessary for “real” change not just political rhetoric. Again, IMO

    • You bring up another fine point Marge. We desperately need a “None of the Above” option on ballots. If no candidate wins more votes than None of the Above, a new race is held and none of the same candidates are allowed to run.

  12. Ooo another good idea Grail. I suspect we’ll never get a none of the above choice because none of the above would win most of the elections.

Leave a Reply

