The Direction of This Blog in the Wake of the Democratic Party’s Fiasco

This will not be a pro-McCain blog.

I will not be voting for Obama, but have made no decision on how to handle my vote in November.  I may pull the lever for McCain if NM looks very close in Obama’s favor.  If McCain or Palin say or do something that seems worthy of discussing in a favorable light, I will do so, but that is not an indication of my switching over to the Republican Party.  I am currently a “non-affiliated” voter; I dropped my registration as a Democrat several months ago because of the actions of the DNC and the Obama campaign. There is a chance I will not go to the polls at all, which would be the first time I’ve chosen not to vote.

Blogging here will go on as usual.  I will continue to:

1) Research Obama and comment on is connections, words and actions, as well as the folly of the Democratic Party, which also means keeping an eye on the New Mexico political scene. Frankly, with Bill Richardson here, there’s plenty to watch.

2) Keep up against the misogyny of the media and the Democratic party, which has now become so obvious.

The treatment of women in politics by the media and the parties apparently has not improved greatly; there’s been a festering sore hidden under sloganeering and false commitment on the part of the Democrats which seems to be as deeply engrained as the “Neanderthalism” of Republican’s policies which involve women’s issues.  I’ve been at this since the 60’s and did a good deal of marching on Washington during the Reagan years, but apparently, I have to keep at it.  This is a crucial moment for the country and we must keep going! It is bigger than Hillary, whose experience has opened the window on what’s really going on…It cannot be swept under the rug any longer!!! To that end, this blog will most likely participate in The New Agenda:

Mission Statement

The New Agenda, through its members and partner organizations, seeks to advance women’s rights. The New Agenda will bring about a systemic change in the way women are treated in the media, by the government, at the workplace, and at home. To achieve our goals, we will empower women by working towards parity in the government and in the workplace. The New Agenda will also formulate an agenda based on core women’s issues which we will promote in a non-partisan fashion. The New Agenda will speak out for the millions of women in this great country who often have no voice.

3) Bring readers information about relevant foreign news. I do want to get back on a regular schedule of my World Media Watch and World Energy Watch. So far, politics has taken too much of my time to really do this…but my goal to get back to these columns is still alive. In the meantime, the International Press Library is now available.

4) I’ll occasionally talk about my dogs, garden and other things that make life worth living.

Uppity Woman has commented that she intends to do her part “to enable people ‘NOT TO FEEL ALONE'” and I hope this blog will also serve this purpose.

Thanks for visiting. If any readers would like to submit essays in any of the areas I’ve just outlined, I would welcome the chance to consider them for posting.

9 Responses

  1. 1. The Mexico Supreme Court just make abortion legal in México.

    2. Please look into the smaller parties–you might find a home. I admit I was pleased with my independent status for years. I have been a Green for some time now.

    3. Police Raids and Arrests, RNC

    4. How about chile as a blog topic?

  2. I appreciate the time/efforts of your blog. I, too, am deeply disappointed with the Democratic Party and am a fervent supporter of Senator HIllary Clinton. However, in this last week, I’ve decided that choosing NOT to vote will not further my interests as an American woman. Allowing McCain/Palin to occupy the White House will only give the uber conservative, pro-lifers an opportunity to have three more Supreme Court appointments. It’s sad that we have to choose the “lesser of two evils” when it comes to our President/Vice-President. But now, it’s time for me to focus my energies on helping women have equal opportunities in the workplace and in our government. And I don’t believe that giving up my vote to a victory for McCain/Palin will further that cause.

  3. ea,..

    Yes, the law which applied only to Mexico City has been upheld 8-3 by the Mexican Supreme Court…August 28. But laws have to be approved in other jurisdictions now…

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20080829/ap_on_re_la_am_ca/mexico_abortion

    Voting for a smaller party is not an option. I don’t agree with most of them anyway…and I think that would ensure an Obama win….that’s why I’m not keen on staying at home, either. Even before this primary season, I had decided that I didn’t want to just vote for anything the Dems put in front of me, so I’m right back where I starte!!

    RNC…the Denver police went after demonstrators at the Dem Convention as well….

    Chile? For you, I’ll check it out!! I’m getting my supply of green chile next Sunday at the health food store…certified organic, local, and free roasting!! Just finishing up my last batch from last year from Hatch…went up there to get them, but they weren’t very hot! Now with the local organic source, I’m sticking close to home…and saving gas!

    Interested in blogging from Venezuela??

  4. Not sure how I will vote top of ticket, but like the guts of McCain. Unlike Allie, I don’t think he will put uber conservative, pro-lifers on the Supreme Court. If he does, it will end the Republican party – Roe being sent to the states would be the worst thing that could happen to Republicans.

    I can only hope he will pick moderates for the court. And who knows who Obama would choose? Since he supports Bush’s faith-based initiatives and said he wants to be a different kind of politician (ha), there’s no telling which way he’d go.

  5. I encourage you to give one more look at the Greens. Their presidential/vice-presidential ticket is targeting the alleged Obama base–AND they are supposed to be on the New Mexico ballot this year automatically. Please don’t believe the crazy rumors about McKinney, if that is your concern. Her words have been chopped up and reassembled in the same way that HRC’s were.

    I return to NM sometime late October. There are some things I have to address. I ‘m not sure if I’ll return to Venezuela in the near future or go to México or stick around for awhile.

  6. ea

    let me know via this blog when you’re in NM and and maybe we can get together for coffee!
    (I can respond to you via WordPress in private…no need to put your email out there…)

  7. Bravo.

    We don’t need a pro-McCain blog. There’s already Redstate. What we need is exactly what you’ve given us…a place to discuss our concerns and voice our opinions without censorship of those that differ from your own.

    May I throw in a word about Roe vs. Wade, please? For years Democrats have had a lock on voters, and women voters in particular, for whom this issue is paramount. The Democratic stranglehold on pro-choice votes is so strong that many Democrats have found it possible to pander to conservatives by voting for limits on Roe without fearing a loss of liberal support.

    For most of those same years Republicans have held a majority in all three branches of government. And yet Roe vs. Wade remains the law of the land.

    I believe Republicans have no interest in overturning Roe vs. Wade. If they did, they’d have done so by now. To the contrary, their vested interest is in ensuring that it remains the law of the land. It is the gift that keeps on giving…a cash cow…the goose that laid the golden egg. To overturn it risks losing the support, both monetary and electoral, of the rabid anti-choicers. Worse, if the fiery base is satisfied by overturning Roe, there is every chance their attention will turn to other Republican positions and they may begin to realize that those positions are entirely contrary to their own best interests.

    No, they’re not going to eliminate Roe vs. Wade. In all the rhetoric of McCain and Palin what you hear is the passive “support for the right to life” but not one word about actively working to overturn Roe.

  8. Think “Mario Cuomo” …which is another things I’ll be getting to hopefully this week….

Leave a Reply

