THE PAST WEEK: Recaps & Rambling Thoughts–August 24-30 (Steny Hoyer Parties on Behalf of CHANGE; The ORANGE Site Spreads Unfounded Rumors re: A Palin Pregnancy; Obama & The New Black Panther Party; My Interview with The Pakistani Spectator; “Holy Smoke”; Animator vs. Animation)

Well, this roller coast of a week is finally over but with Labor Day, the real onslaught of the political season will be going into full throttle.  It’s been a disappointing few weeks, culminating in the sham Democratic Convention.  The misogyny has been in full swing, fueled by McCain’s VP pick, Sarah Palin.

I’m tired but here’s taste of what went  on at the Obama festivities, which mark the great CHANGE:

While the Democrats pose as the party of the people, they sure weren’t acting like it when many of them accepted the hospitality of ATT & T:

AT&T Throws ‘Exclusive Party’ For Blue Dog Democrats Who Helped Pass Retroactive Immunity»

The telecommunications giant AT&T is “virtually everywhere” at the Democratic convention this week, “wining and feeding delegates and members of Congress with a relentless schedule of luncheons and evening celebrations.” The Texas-based company threw a special party outside the Mile High Station for its biggest supporters:

On Monday, AT&T threw an exclusive party for the Blue Dogs, the House’s moderate and conservative Democrats, at the historic Mile High Station in downtown Denver. Among the guests was House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer, D-Md., who in June led Blue Dogs in crafting a compromise bill that shielded telecommunications companies from lawsuits arising from the government’s terrorism-era warrantless eavesdropping.

Hoyer spokeswoman Stacey Bernards said Hoyer was not aware of any connection between the party and his work on the legislation. “I’m sure Mr. Hoyer didn’t even know who the sponsor was,” she said.

Leading the Blue Dog Democrats, Hoyer was “the point man” in negotiations over the new FISA law that Congress passed and Bush signed last month. He helped secure retroactive immunity for the telecommunications companies (including AT&T), thereby condoning their participation in Bush’s illegal spying program.

The president paid “special tribute” to Hoyer for his work in passing the legislation. While Sen. Russ Feingold (D-WI) called the legislation “one of the greatest assaults on the Constitution…in the history of our country,” Hoyer heralded it as a “significant victory.” And he has earned the telecommunication companies’ special thanks this week at the DNC convention.

(MORE)

Please understand that Hoyer had NO CLUE that who was sponsoring this party, no clue at all.  Nope, didn’t know ‘nuthin’…in spite of the fact that the party was announced and attendance was by invitation…

bluedogs2.jpg

Can’t you just feel all the CHANGE in the air??

*******************

I haven’t gone to the ORANGE site in months, but was compelled to see for myself the post questioning whether Sarah Palin as the mother of her Down’s Syndrome baby or whether it belongs to one of her teen-age daughters.

Classy.  No matter that someone has provided a picture of Palin while pregnant (scroll down).  The original post still sits there.

*******************

Logistics Monster has a little ditty up on Obama and the New Black Panthers, which have a link on the Obama website.  I love the part with the two guys standing at attention with guns…reminds me of when I was at Cornell and the student union was taken over by rifle-wielding black students.  It made the naitonal headlines then…why not this now?  I trust the GOP will do the job, the question is when?  They’ll be accused of “playing the race card,” of course.

******************

I was interviewed by The Pakistani Spectator, which is a great source of new and views from Pakistan.  This site is now listed in my International Press Library.

******************

Ever see the movie “Holy Smoke” (1999) with Kate Winslet? It was on Encore last night….It’s about a young woman who becomes hooked by a religious guru, and how her parent hire a deprogrammer (Harvey Keitel) in an effort to get her back. Seems very appropriate these days…(“satiric yet disturbing,” according to the blurb)

******************

Take a break and see how this line drawing battles its animator:

http://alanbecker.deviantart.com/art/Animator-vs-Animation-34244097

******************

Out in the garden, the eggplant are getting smaller. The lima beans are at their peak production, while the peppers and tomatoes are still going strong. It’s hard to rip out producing plants to replace them with a fall crop of veggies, but I’m facing this dilemma soon. I have two small raised beds which produce year round, but it’s hard to rotate crops and wish I had a third bed!

************

Have a good Labor Day, everybody!

THE PAST WEEK

*Posted by kenosha Marge

My Interview with The Pakistani Spectator…

*How Dare He Do That?

Putting Clinton, PUMAs and Palin in Their Place–The Pundits Don’t Skip a Beat

McCain and the Possible VP Pick–Putting a BOMB under Obama?? (UPDATE 1X–BOMB PLACED–It’s Palin) UPDATE 2X–ONE HELLUVA SPEECH BY PALIN; UPDATE 3X–Palin on Choice/Gays

FLASHBACK: Democratic Messages–Does Obama Cut It? (With an Aside about Obama’s Organizing & Connection to One of the ‘04 Candidates)

The GOP Toolbar…the Latest Thing in Their Arsenal…

How Many at Invesco Field Will Be There Because They’ve Been Coerced?? Here’s a true example….

MOVE TO GET HILLARY ON TICKET AS VP??? (Just reported on FOX…)

Some Pictures to Get You in the Mood for Tonight…Update: Invesco Field being “Reconsidered”? (Rumor?)

Democratic Delegates Should See Gore Vidal’s “The Best Man” (1964) Before They Make Their HUGE MISTAKE Tonight…

*Pooped on by the Party (Fall in Line? I Ain’t Gonna Do That…)

Pundits, Pollsters and Should We Be Getting Ready for the Next Play of the Race Card? (Clues in the latest Zogby survey I received?) (Updated 1X)

THE PAST WEEK: Recaps & Rambling Thoughts–August 17-23 (Memories of Anita Hill; Timing of Rezko Sentencing; ACORN; Meet Emily; and Lima Beans!)


6 Responses

  1. Lucky you with a climate that allows year round garden. We have small yard with two raised beds 4×8 and several container tomatoes on the patio. We grow herbs between the flowers along the side of the house and my SO tends his beloved roses.

    All except the tomatoes are suffering from lack of rain because we do water them. They are producing prodigiously and we are canning and freezing daily.

    Also watering my beloved bee balm since I use that to make my bee balm balm. Am about to call up my 1/8 Native American DNA and do a rain dance. We need it and I’m beyond worrying about how silly this old lady would look. It’s not like I haven’t looked silly before. And gardening is too important to care.

    I am also a prodigious composter.

  2. Marge, we’ve had TONS of rain here in southern NM and this is the first time I’ve had such a robust garden…I was a Master Gardener with a huge plot back in NJ, but I had to relearn everything here…I have a bad back, that’s why I have the raised beds–they’re about 3+ feet high so I don’t have to bend! I have loads of pots of veggies, too, as my “backup” in case the rock squirrels don’t like what I feed them everyday! (Corn and leftover veggie scraps). And I brought my composter here from NJ! It works a lot faster than it did there!!

    I do greens under plastic protection from the winds and the sharp night temps during the winter…chard, kale, mustard, etc.

  3. Great roundup! Have you ever used an Earthbox before? I got my father one for father’s day because he’d been talking about starting a container garden. They are supposed to be excellent for growing small crops.

  4. The animator vs. animation thingy was soooo cute!! Thanks for that. Made me smile.

  5. Sugar, Yes, I”ve heard of them, but I had my beds built so I’m all set!
    My dad did some gardening and I picked it up from him. I hope yours does it and enjoys it!!!

    GARDENING 4EVER!!!!

  6. Sugar, thanks for the info about the Earthbox. I googled and then showed it to my SO and he’s halfway to Steins Gardening Center to look at one.

    He’s a gardening fanatic but has a bad shoulder from a car accident and the Earthbox sounds like it’s right up his alley.

    I got him a nice little electric roto-tiller for Christmas to save on his shoulder with the pull starter. Now he spends more time in the compost heap with his roto-tiller than the worms and bugs do. But it is quiet, relatively powerful and no gas or oil to buy and no gas stink in the yard either. We love it.

Leave a Reply

